NUS Symphony Orchestra conducted by
Lim Soon Lee

Sat 21 Mar | 8pm | UCC Hall

$19 & $16

1 hour 30 minutes
(15 minutes interval)

Programme Book Book Tickets

Under the skillful baton of Maestro Lim Soon Lee, NUS Symphony Orchestra will perform an exciting programme of concertos in honor of the 110th anniversary of National University of Singapore. The concert, which features NUS alumni from different years of graduation, celebrates the role that NUS has played in nurturing young musicians and classical music fans through the decades.

Highlights of the evening include Tchaikovsky’s rousing 1812 Overture, Sarasate’s Carmen Fantasy for violin performed by Alan Choo, recipient of the Goh Soon Tioe Centenary Award, excerpts of Gershwin’s Rhapsody in Blue featuring Soh Ser Yee, and Cultural Medallion recipient Leong Yoon Pin’s Blessing the Seas, a work premiered in 1996 dedicated to former President Ong Teng Cheong. Chen Zhangyi, recipient of the Paul Abisheganaden Grant and Young Artist Award, will also premiere his new composition, Saving Theseus...Ariadne's Love.

Formed in 1979 as the NUS Concert Orchestra and inaugurated as the NUS Symphony Orchestra in 1995, the orchestra’s beginnings can be traced back to the 1920s when it was first a chamber orchestra.

More about the artists:

Back to Top