Sub Committees

Projects Members Objectives Milestones
Academic Journeys

Johan Geertsema
Laksh Samavedham

  • To provide concrete accounts of how different NUS academics have encountered and overcome challenges in the course of their careers.
  • To provoke new academics to reflect on their own values, where they would like to go, and how to get there.
  • And more experienced academics to reflect on where they have been, where they should be going next, and how they can be of service to their less experienced colleagues.
  • Discussions began in Feb 2010
  • Jan 2011 – Published the first series of Academic Journeys on Prof Andy Hor and Prof Bernard
Academy Matters
(outreach newsletter)
  • To bring new projects done by the Academy to the attention of the NUS community.
  • To get the involvement of NUS faculty.
IT in Education

Erle Lim (Chair)
Johan Geertsema

Laksh Samavedham
Farooq Shamsuzzaman
Bernard Tan
Victor Tan
Ravi Chandran
Ong Chin Hwa
Loy Hui Chieh

  • To seek and identify ways in which IT can be used to improve teaching and learning in NUS
  • To study trends in IT or current and future technologies that may be harnessed or developed for future pedagogical innovations in NUS
  • To craft a position paper for IT-based learning at NUS
  • Nov 2010 – The IT subcommittee was formed
  • Identified mobile technology as a possible innovation to focus on
  • April 2-6, 2012 – Conducted a study trip to the US
  • April 27-29, 2012 – Attended the Apple Education Leadership Summit in Geneva (EL & OCH)
  • May 22, 2012 – Invited Apple to conduct a hands-on session with MacBook Pros and iPads featuring Apps, iBooks, and
    iTunes U.
Educational Research

Stephen Lim (Chair)
Alice Christudason
Farooq Shamsuzzaman
Sow Chorng Haur
Victor Tan

  • To promote educational research in NUS
  • To spearhead and conduct pedagogical research projects
  • 23 April 2014: The Subcommittee was formed by Stephen Lim
  • 17 June 2014: The first Subcommittee meeting was held
Asian Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (AJSoTL)

Erle Lim (Editor)
Johan Geertsema (Deputy Editor)
Chng Huang Hoon
Laksh Samavedham
Sow Chorng Haur
Cecilia Lim
Peter Looker
Rani Rubdy
Wu Siew Mei

Formerly known as the Journal of the NUS Teaching Academy (JNUSTA), it has been renamed as the Asian Journal of the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning (AJSoTL) to reflect the Board's decision to focus on issues in the scholarship of teaching and learning (SoTL), i.e. an emphasis on research-informed teaching and on explicit pedagogical reflection, as well as documentation of the pedagogical processes that drive classroom activities and student learning outcomes.


AJSoTL seeks to create and nurture a global network of academics and educators, who will discuss current practices and future trends in tertiary education.


The journal will provide a forum for educators from across the disciplines to showcase pedagogical innovations, present original research in teaching, assessment, and methodologies, and to discuss the teaching of core or life skills (such as critical thinking and communication skills; and issues of ethics and professionalism for example) that characterise a competent university graduate in a global economy.


Peer Review: Implemen-tation Phase

Farooq Shamsuzzaman
Victor Tan
Laksh Samavedham

The subcommittee will be overseeing the implementation phase of the various recommendations made by the previous Peer Review subcommittee.

Update as at 1 August 2013
With effect from 1 August 2013, a revised Online Peer Review System has been implemented. Details are provided in the Staff Portal.

Phase 1 - completed
Phase 2 - ongoing

Student Feedback: Implemen-tation Phase

Yap Von Bing
Damith Rajapakse
Ravi Chandran
Laksh Samavedham

The subcommittee will be overseeing the implementation phase of the various recommendations made by the previous Student Feedback subcommittee.

Phase 1 - completed
Phase 2 - ongoing

Teaching & Learning Club (Outreach)

Alice Christudason
Cecilia Lim
Farooq Shamsuzzaman

  • To discuss issues concerning teaching and learning in an open forum or in focus groups involving both faculty and students
  • To bring new projects done by the Academy to the attention of the NUS community
  • To get the involvement of NUS faculty and students with the Academy
  • To mentor new faculty
  • Formed in March 2010.
  • 2010-2011 Chair: Andy Hor Tzi Sum; Vice Chair: Kenneth Paul Tan
  • 2010 – held 6 TLC sessions
  • 2011-2012 Chair: Sow Chorng Haur; Co-Chair: Johan Geertsema
  • 2011 – held 3 TLC sessions
  • 2012 – held 2 TLC sessions
  • 2012-2013 Alice Christudason, Cecilia Lim, Farooq Shamsuzzaman
  • 2013 – held 2 TLC sessions
    More info
Teaching Track (TT)

Adrian Lee (Chair)
Kumaralingam A
Cheah Kok Ming
Lee Kooi Cheng
Soo Yuen Jien
Teofilo C Daquila
Phil Chan
Barbara Schaefer
Suzaina Abdul Kadir

  • To review and provide recommendations to PVO with regard to TT issues at NUS
  • And to hopefully change the culture (image) or peoples’ perception of TT at NUS

20 Jun 2012 – 1st subcommittee meeting
25 Sep 2012 – 2nd subcommittee meeting
20 Nov 2012 – 3rd subcommittee meeting
6 Mar 2013 – Teaching & Learning Club Forum: Teaching Track @NUS
July 2013 – submitted initial recommendations to PVO
2014 – recommendations accepted by PVO

Past Subcommittee - Peer Review

Chan Wai Meng (Chair)
Victor Tan (Co-Chair)
Farooq Shamsuzzaman
Johan Geertsema
Narayanan Ganapathy
Lim Lum Peng
Tan Kay Chen

  • To review and improve the current PR procedure
  • To review and improve the current PR form
  • To look into the feasibility of separating summative and formative PR
  • Mar 2010 – The PR subcommittee was formed
  • Jan/Feb 2011 – Completed the 1st draft of a revised PR form and procedure
  • Mar 2011 – Launched an anonymous online survey directed at the NUS teaching community
  • Mar 2011 – Hosted a TLC event
  • Feb 2012 – Sought Fellows’ feedback
  • 9 March 2012 – Presented key recommendations to PVO and Deans at the Dean’s meeting
  • 12 July 2012 – Submitted subcommittee’s recommendations to PVO
  • Nov-Dec 2012 – Roadshows at faculties/schools
Past Subcommittee - Student Feedback

Helmer Aslaksen (Chair till 2011)
Laksh Samavedham (Chair)

Victor Tan (Co-Chair)
Goh Say Song
Seah Kar Heng
Sow Chorng Haur
Yap Von Bing
Zhou Weibiao

To review and improve the current SF procedure, questionnaire, reports and system interface

  • Jan 2010 – The SF subcommittee was formed, helmed by Helmer Aslaksen
  • Sep 2011 – Laksh Samavedham and Victor Tan took over as Chair and Co-chair respectively
  • 9 March 2012 – Presented key recommendations to PVO and Deans at the Dean’s meeting
  • Mar-May, 2012 – Presentations made to the NUS teaching community (through FoE, FoS, FASS, TLC)

Heng Cheng Suang (Chair)
Susan Ang Wan-Ling
Sandy Cook
Ho Han Kiat
Ashwin M Khambadkone
Lee Kooi Cheng
Ravi Chandran s/o Thiagaraj
Seah Kar Heng
Soo Yuen Jien
Grace Wong Khei Mie

To identify assessment related issues and provide recommendations to PVO to encourage good assessment practices

Jan 2015 – The Assessment subcommittee was formed by Heng Cheng Suang
26 Jan 2015 – The first subcommittee was held to identify issues and concerns
3 & 4 Feb 2015 – The subcommittee divided themselves into two teams to focus on various aspects of assessment related issues
Sep 2016 – The subcommittee completed their two final reports for submission to PVO