Zhou Weibiao


"To be a good teacher requires one to be a good learner. The synergy between teaching and learning would boost the effectiveness of both. I strive to create a learning-teaching environment together with my students to maximize such a synergy.”


Professor Zhou Weibiao joined NUS in 2001 and has been Director of the Food Science and Technology Programme since 2005. He received his B.Sc. from Beijing University of Chemical Technology in 1982, his M.Eng. from the Chinese Academy of Sciences in 1985 and his Ph.D. from the University of Queensland, Australia in 1991. He is a Board Member of the Agri-food and Veterinary Authority (AVA) of Singapore, a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Food Science and Technology (AIFST), a council member of the Singapore Institute of Food Science and Technology (SIFST), a member of the Singapore Food Standards Committee, and a member of the editorial boards of 5 international peer-refereed journals in the area of food engineering and food processing. Over the years, he has held various professional positions in a number of organisations in Australia, Canada, China, France and USA. At NUS, Prof. Zhou has won a number of teaching awards at both faculty and university levels. Prof. Zhou’s research interests and expertise are in food engineering and food processing, particularly baking processes, dairy processes, drying, functional foods, and process modelling, optimization and control.

Teaching Strengths

  • Motivate students to learn through connecting fundamental theories to real-life and industrial scenario
  • Employ different approaches for different types of learning environment, for example lectures vs. tutorials, to maximize learning outcomes
  • Nurture students’ critical thinking ability through information inadequacy and redundancy in solving problems

Teaching Awards / Accolades

  • University Honour Roll 2009
  • University Annual Teaching Excellence Award (AY2007/2008, AY2006/2007, AY2003/2004)
  • Faculty Honour Roll AY2008/2009
  • Faculty Teaching Excellence Award (AY2007/2008, AY2006/2007, AY2005/2006, AY2003/2004, AY2001/2002)
Go top