Double Degree Programmes

International legal work, for which Singapore is a hub, increasingly involves issues with transnational dimensions relating to commercial, environmental, and corporate, and financial services law. This means there is a demand for lawyers with strong backgrounds in a variety of subjects including global affairs, environmental studies, life sciences, economics, and history.

The Double Degree Programme in Law is a prestigious five-year programme, offered jointly by Yale-NUS College and the NUS Faculty of Law, and provides a truly unique and interdisciplinary legal education in a residential, liberal arts setting. Successful candidates will graduate after five years of study with a Bachelor of Arts (with Honors) degree from Yale-NUS College and a Bachelor of Laws (with Honors) degree from the NUS Faculty of Law.

For the first four years of the programme, students will live at Yale-NUS College and enjoy the full benefits of the residential college experience. Double Degree students will spend their entire first year at Yale-NUS College, taking the Common Curriculum and a specific law-related elective. In Years 2-4, students will split their time between the Common Curriculum, elective courses at Yale-NUS College, and core and elective law courses at NUS Law's Bukit Timah campus. It will also be possible to build in a semester of an exchange programme abroad at one of NUS Law's partner institutions. In Year 5, students will move out of their Yale-NUS residential college and take classes full-time at Bukit Timah. A capstone project will also be pursued in Year 5, entailing a research and writing project in a topic combining law and the liberal arts.

Graduates of the Double Degree Programme will qualify for admissions to the legal profession as Advocates and Solicitors of the High Court of Singapore. They may expect to work for a diverse set of global employers including Singapore and international law firms, large commercial banks, intergovernmental and non-governmental organizations, and institutions such as the Monetary Authority of Singapore, the Media Development Authority, the Infocomm Development Authority, and the Competition Commission of Singapore.