Office of Safety, Health & Environment

OSHE 10th Anniversary Dinner 2013
A Journey of partnership for Safety Excellence

The Office of Safety, Health & Environment (OSHE) celebrated its tenth anniversary with a dinner held on the 28th February 2013 at the Kent Ridge Guild Hall. The theme of the event was 'A journey of partnership for safety excellence!' to celebrate the continual partnership between OSHE and Safety practitioners within NUS, local regulatory agencies and international collaborators.

Professor Tan Chorh Chuan, NUS President, graced the event as the Guest of Honor and distinguished guests include Professor Barry Halliwell, NUS Deputy President (Research and Technology) and Professor Tan Eng Chye, NUS Deputy President (Academic Affairs) and Provost. Key NUS stakeholders such as Deans, Department Heads and Safety Chairpersons were invited as well as representatives from local regulatory agencies such as the Ministry of Manpower, Workplace Safety and Health Council, Singapore Civil Defence Force and Agri-Food and Veterinary Authority of Singapore. We were also delighted with the presence of Emeritus Professor Ang How Ghee who oversaw the establishment of OSHE as well as Mr. Louis DiBerardinis, Director of the Environment Health and Safety Office from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

The event started off with a virtuoso performance by the String Quartet from the Yong Siew Toh Conservatory of Music. Next, Professor Tan Chorh Chuan delivered his Opening Address where he thanked OSHE for its hard work in raising safety and health standards on campus.

Prof Tan
Prof Tan Chorh Chuan Presenting his opening address

Following the Opening Address, a cake cutting ceremony was held where Professor Tan Chor Chuan, Professor Tan Eng Chye, Professor Barry Halliwell and Dr. Peck Thian Guan were invited to symbolically mark the tenth anniversary of OSHE. Dr. Peck then proceeded to deliver his speech as he thanked the Safety Committees and outlined the key challenges ahead.

Cake cutting
Cake-Cutting Ceremony

Dinner was served and a photo stream of the cocktail reception was shown. The participants were also entertained with a multi-media production showcasing the development of OSHE and the Safety programs offered to NUS stakeholders.

Click here to view the video utube

Next, Mr. Louis DiBerardinis proceeded to deliver his speech, congratulating OSHE on its tenth anniversary and recounting the close collaborations with the Environment Health and Safety Office from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. This was followed by a gift exchange between Mr. DiBerardinis and Dr. Peck and an OSHE photomontage depicting the team bonding and wellness activities for OSHE staff.

gift exchange1 gift exchange2
Gift exchange between Dr Peck Thian Guan and Mr Louis DiBerardinis

Professor Tan Chorh Chuan then proceeded to present the Commitment and Commendation awards for the Annual Safety & Health Performance Award (ASHPA) followed by the tokens of appreciation to Institutional and Faculty Safety Committees. This was followed by the presentation of tokens of appreciation to safety committees in the Research Institutes and Research Centers as well as department safety committees in the Faculty of Science by Professor Barry Halliwell. Professor Tan Eng Chye then presented tokens of appreciation to the department safety committees in the Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine and the Faculty of Engineering. Last but not least, Dr. Peck Thian Guan presented tokens of appreciation to safety committees of residential halls and administrative departments.

Barrett ashpa2
ASHPA Award recipients: Dr Barrett Murray Douglas, Centre for Quantum Technologies; Prof Jean Paul Thiery, Dept of Biochemistry.
ASHPA Award recipients:
A/Prof Chia Sin Eng, Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health

The Office of Safety, Health & Environment would like to thank our guest of honor, distinguished guests and all participants for a fruitful ten years of collaboration. May we continue on our journey to safety excellence!