4.1.3    Financial Assistance and Awards

  Home / NUS Bulletin AY2020/21 / School of Computing / Graduate Education / Research Programmes / Financial Assistance and Awards

President’s Graduate Fellowship (PGF)

The PGF is awarded to candidates who show exceptional promise or accomplishment in research. A small number of PhD research candidates are selected each semester by the University for the Fellowship. Selected candidates will receive a monthly allowance of S$3,500 (for Singapore citizens) and S$3,000 (international students). The award is tenable for an initial one year and, subject to an annual review of the scholar’s research progress, it can be renewable up to a maximum of 4 years.

NUS Research Scholarship

Financial Assistance in the form of the NUS Research Scholarship is available, on a competitive basis to all full-time students who meet the criteria. The Research Scholarship will carry monthly emoluments, plus full tuition fee subsidy. Candidates with good undergraduate degrees in computer science or information systems are invited to apply for research scholarships. These are for pursuing full-time Ph.D. programme in the School. They are tenable for one year in the first instance and renewable annually for up to four years for Ph.D. candidates, subject to satisfactory performance. Research scholars who passed their Ph.D. Qualifying Examination will be awarded an additional top up of S$500 per month (for two years) during their Ph.D. candidature.

SAP Industry PhD Scholar Programme

SAP Asia, in partnership with the National Research Foundation and NUS, is offering the SAP PhD Scholar Programme to outstanding individuals who are keen to pursue a higher academic calling, while working at the forefront of technology in a world leading company.

All candidates must meet the admission requirements of the University’s PhD programme and go through all necessary academic milestones.

Singapore Digital (SG:D) Scholarship (Postgraduate)

The SG:D Scholarship (Postgraduate) is an industry scholarship that empowers students pursuing Infocomm Media (ICM) related studies at the Masters or PhD level. Students pursuing postgraduate studies in specialised ICM areas such as Artificial Intelligence, Cybersecurity, Analytics, Immersive Media, and Digital Content Creation can chart your future with this scholarship.

Teaching or Research Assistantships

Research scholars who have fulfilled their Graduate Assistantship Programme requirements may apply for teaching assistantships with the Departments. Such assistantships will require them to assist in departmental work such as conducting tutorials/laboratory demonstrations, preparation of teaching materials, invigilating at examinations etc.

Full-time graduate students may also apply for part-time research assistantships to assist the Principal Investigators (PI) with specific research duties.

All appointments are subject to the terms and conditions stipulated under such appointments. International students are also required to abide by the Immigration & Checkpoints Authority (ICA) guidelines.

Graduate Awards

The following graduate awards are given to encourage and recognise continuous and sustained research excellence in graduate research students:

  1. Research Achievement Award

    This award will be given to outstanding Ph.D. students each academic year, encouraging students to strive towards continuous research achievement during their Ph.D. candidature.

    Award Criteria:

    The recipients of this award will each receive a certificate and $250 cash prize.

    1. Be either a full-time or part-time Ph.D. student throughout the whole semester at the time of award presentation.
    2. Achieved outstanding performance (over a one-year period) in terms of:

      1. Publications in Rank-1 journals/conferences
      2. Registration for patent
      3. Significant system development of either commercial interest or wide usage by organisations not related to the development work
    3. In all cases, the student must be a significant contributor/primary author of the achievement.
    4. Awards will be given out twice a year.

The recipients of this award will each receive a certificate and $250 cash prize.

  1. Dean’s Graduate Research Excellence Award

The Dean’s Graduate Award is a prestigious award to be given to senior Ph.D. students who have made significant research achievements during their Ph.D. study, and the award criteria are:

  • Deserving recipients to be given this award once throughout their candidature;
  • Nomination to be made by supervisors;
  • Award only given once per academic year;

Winners will each receive a certificate and $1,000 cash prize.

The judging criteria for Dean’s Graduate Awards will be the same as the Research Achievement Award. In addition, nominees must produce strong evidence of sustained research achievements during their course of study.

Students who have been awarded one of the awards will not be able to receive the other simultaneously.

  Home / NUS Bulletin AY2020/21 / School of Computing / Graduate Education / Research Programmes / Financial Assistance and Awards