1    Faculty’s Commitment

  Home / NUS Bulletin AY2020/21 / Faculty of Science / Faculty’s Commitment

The Faculty of Science began as a single department in Raffles College in 1929, offering courses in Chemistry, Mathematics, and Physics, and having ten students and three staff members. Since then it has evolved into one of the largest faculties in the National University of Singapore, with six departments, a wide range of programmes, some 5,000 undergraduates, 1,500 graduate students, 383 research staff, 374 academic and teaching staff and 109  executive and professional staff.

The Faculty of Science also has a Lee Kong Chian Natural History Museum, which is home to over a million plant and animal specimens from the region. It is a leader in Southeast Asian biodiversity and conservation research, education and outreach, and is also the national centre for the cryo-preservation of biodiversity tissue samples of more than 3,000 species. The museum’s 2,200 m2 exhibition gallery is dedicated to the biodiversity of Southeast Asia and Singapore, and displays over 2,000 species and fossils of three sauropod dinosaurs. It complements and is integrated in the museum’s research and education programmes.

Sharing the vision of the nation and the university, the Faculty of Science focuses on knowledge and research and their application to the education, industry and enterprise of the nation. Of equal essence is the imparting of knowledge and life skills to students, so that Science graduates are not only conversant with their fields but also have the versatility to learn new trades and adapt to a variety of jobs in today’s knowledge-based economy.

Please refer to the Faculty website at: for up-to-date information on the Faculty.

  Home / NUS Bulletin AY2020/21 / Faculty of Science / Faculty’s Commitment