NUS Graduate School for Integrative Sciences and Engineering

Awards / Achievements
CHEN Zhi Xiong, Ph.D. 2010

Lecturer and Integration Lead Educator (Medicine)
Department of Physiology
National University of Singapore

Joint Scientist
KK Women’s and Children’s Hospital

Faculty Teaching Excellence Award, 2015

NUHS Academic Medicine Development Award, 2016

Swee Liew-Wadsworth Research Award (Gold), 2014

Children’s Cancer and Leukaemia Group (CCLG) McElwain Award, 2013

The Company of Biologists Travel Award, 2013

Valerie Chew Suk Peng, Ph.D. 2008

Junior Principle Investigator
SingHealth Translational Immunology and Inflammation Centre

Assistant Professor
Duke - NUS Graduate Medical School

Member of a multi-disciplinary team which discovered a form of radiation therapy, Yttrium-90 radioembolisation (Y90-RE), that increases anti-cancer immunity and improves tumour response in liver cancer patients.

Principal Investigator,
Cancer Science Institute of Singapore,
National University of Singapore

Singapore National Research Foundation (NRF) Fellowship Award 2013.

Regional winner in the "All Other Countries" category for the 2010 GE and Science Prize.
Click here to read her winning essay "Genome-Wide Chromatin Loops Regulate Transcription."

GUO Pengfei, Ph.D. 2014
2014 ECS Bruce Deal & Andy Grove Young Author Award, for his paper
Silicon Surface Passivation Technology for Germanium-Tin P-Channel MOSFETs: Suppression of Germanium and Tin Segregation for Mobility Enhancement”.
(ECS Journal of Solid State Science and Technology, Vol. 3, Issue 8, Q162, 2014).
HUANG Hua, Ph.D. 2012
Chua Toh Hua Memorial Gold Medal 2012.
KHOO Yong Sheng, Ph.D. 2014

PV Modules Development Group
Solar Energy Research Institute of Singapore

Yong Sheng’s research group has developed a vertical double-sided photovoltaic module that could potentially be integrated into the sound barriers that line the MRT rail tracks. Find out more at

LEE Wong Cheng, Ph.D. 2014
Chua Toh Hua Memorial Gold Medal 2013/2014 for the most outstanding research in Life Sciences.
LI Guangda, Ph.D. 2012

CTO & Co-founder of ViSenze

Recent media coverage
LI Xue, Ph.D. 2014
World Future Foundation PhD Prize 2013/2014 in Environmental and Sustainability Research.
LIU Mei Hui, Ph.D. 2008

Food Science & Technology Programme
National University of Singapore

LOH Xian Jun, Ph.D. 2010

Senior Scientist & Programme Manager,
Institute of Materials Research and Engineering,
Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR)

Assistant Professor,
Department of Materials Science and Engineering,
National University of Singapore

LOH Yuin Han, Ph.D. 2008

Principal Investigator
Institute of Molecular and Cell Biology (IMCB), Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR)

LOKE Kok Leong Desmond, Ph.D. 2013
Recognised as one of 35 Innovators Under 35 2016 by MIT Technology Review for his breakthrough research in memory storage medium.
MITCHELL Alexander Ian, Ph.D. 2012

Assistant Professor
Department of Communications and New Media
National University of Singapore

Sadaf MONAJEMI, Ph.D. 2018
Muhammed Yusuf S/O Muhammed Ali, Ph.D. 2008

Assistant Professor
Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine
Nanyang Technological University

Yasaman NEMATBAKhSH, Ph.D. 2018

Co-founder and Chief Executive Officer of start-up,

Brief profile at TECHINASIA News at "3. Yasaman Nematbakhsh, CEO of 42Lab”

Abhijeet PATRA, Ph.D. 2016
The first PhD thesis from NUS accepted and published by Springer as part of Springer Theses titles.
POH Yong Cheng, Ph.D. 2013
Singapore – Stanford Biodesign Fellowship 2012.
SAW Thuan Beng, Ph.D. 2018

Chua Toh Hua Memorial Gold Medal for AY2017/2018

Wang Gungwu Medal and Prize for AY2017/2018

TAM Wai Leong, Ph.D. 2008

Senior Research Scientist
Genome Institute of Singapore

Recent study on lung cancer in Asian countries was published in Nature Communications and covered by The Straits Times.

TAN Swee Jin, Ph.D. 2011
Co-Founder & Technical Director
Clearbridge Accelerator Pte Ltd
WANG Fei, Ph.D. 2014

Chief Executive Officer
AeroLion Technologies

WANG Fei, Ph.D. 2014

PHANG Swee King, Ph.D. 2015

CUI Jinqiang, Ph.D. 2014

Part of the Co-founding Team of AeroLion Technologies.
WANG Yue, Ph.D 2013
Co-founder & Chief Operating Officer
Igloohome Inc
YAP Hong Kai, Ph.D. 2017

Selected to be on Forbes’ 2019 class of 30 Under 30 Entrepreneurs in Healthcare & Science category in Asia

Brief profile of Hong Kai here.

YONG Kol Jia, Ph.D. 2013
Chua Toh Hua Memorial Gold Medal 2013.
ZHAO Zhenwei, Ph.D. 2014
Co-founder & Chief Technology Officer
Tapi Data Solutions