NUS-IRB: Composition of the IRB

The NUS-IRB has a total of 11 staff members from various faculties, 2 non-NUS affiliated members (lay-persons) and a biomedical scientist who is not affiliated with the NUS.


The current co-Chairs of the NUS-IRB are:

  Human Biomedical Research (HBR) Social, Behavioural and Educational Research (SBER)
  Professor Lee Kok Onn Professor Catherine So-kum Tang
Tel: (65) 67724341 (65) 65167652


Every NUS-IRB review meeting shall have a quorum of 5 members, with varying backgrounds to promote complete and adequate review of the research.

Disciplines represented in the NUS-IRB are as follows:

Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health
Discipline of Endodontics, Operative Dentistry and Prosthodontics
Department of Malay Studies
Department of Sociology
Department of Medicine Department of Obstetrics and Gynaecology
Department of Pharmacology
Faculty of Law
Department of Philosophy
Department of Management & Organization
Bioprocessing Technology Institute, A*STAR
Department of Biomedical Engineering
Department of Psychology
2 non-NUS affiliated members (lay-persons)