NUS Alumni Awards

NUS Alumni Awards 2019

The prestigious NUS Alumni Awards was set up on the occasion of NUS Centennial Celebrations in 2005 to celebrate and honour alumni who have distinguished themselves through significant and impactful contributions to their alma mater, society and the world.

Nomination for the NUS Alumni Awards 2019 is now open until March 2019. You may also wish to download a copy of the nomination for review/preparation purpose.

Please submit your online nomination here

Awards Categories

Eminent Alumni Award

The Eminent Alumni Award recognises alumni who have distinguished themselves nationally or globally for their exceptional and sustained contributions and achievements in public or community service; in the arts, sports, culture or entrepreneurship; or in a profession or scholarly field.

Distinguished Alumni Service Award

The Distinguished Alumni Service Award recognises alumni who have distinguished themselves and demonstrated tangible impact in their chosen fields, and rendered excellent volunteer service to NUS, its predecessor institutions and/or the community.

Outstanding Young Alumni Award

The Outstanding Young Alumni Award recognises alumni aged 40 and below who have distinguished themselves in their chosen fields. They may also have rendered excellent volunteer service to NUS and/or the community while exemplifying the best attributes of youth in today's world.

The Awards Statuette


The design comprises a human figure and a globe. The figure forms the shape of 'NUS', and reflects that the University is people-centred, while the globe signifies that NUS is a global knowledge enterprise. The steps at the base of the globe represent the awardee’s ascent to success and their never-ending pursuit of excellence.

Award Recipients

Eminent Alumni Award
Mr Wong Ngit Liong, Engineering '65

Distinguished Alumni Service Award
Emeritus Professor Chen Hsiao Yun Louis, Science '64
Ms Chew Gek Khim, Law '84
Professor Chua Nam-Hai, Science '65
Ms Lim Hai Yen, Arts and Social Sciences '92
Mr Peter Seah Lim Huat, Business '68

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
Mr Mohamed Fairoz Bin Ahmad, Arts and Social Sciences & USP '06, Arts and Social Sciences '11
Dr Neo Mei Lin, Science '09 '14
Dr Sin Yong, Medicine '12
Dr Azariah Tan Peng Chay, Music '11
Mr Jeffrey Tiong Jee Hui, Engineering '07
Ms Betty Tsai, Engineering & USP '12

Team Award – Co-founders of Carousell
Mr Lucas Ngoo Cheng Han, Engineering '13
Mr Quek Siu Rui, Business '12
Mr Marcus Tan Yi Wei, Business '11

Eminent Alumni Award
Professor Tommy Koh, Law '61
Professor Wang Gungwu, Arts '53 '55

Distinguished Alumni Service Award
Ms Janet Ang, Business '83
Ms Chen Chunhua, Business '00
Mr Edward D'Silva, Architecture '75
Dr Lee Soo Ann, Arts '60 '69
Mr Seah Cheng San, Engineering '82, Business '92
Dr Tan Eng Liang, Science '61
Mrs Joanna Wong Quee Heng, Science '63

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
Dr Chiong Yee Keow, Medicine '12
Dr Intan Azura Mokhtar, Science '98, Public Policy '08
Mr Ouyang Xiuzhang, Business '99
Ms Priscilla Shunmugam, Law '06
Ms Jasmine Ser Xiang Wei, Business '14
Mr Benjamin Tan, Business '00
Mr Tan Min-Liang, Law '02
Ms Cherie Tan Shi Hua, Engineering '12
Mr Tan Tai Kiat, Arts and Social Sciences '02
Mr Royston Tay Zhing Keak, Engineering '08
Distinguished Alumni Service Award
Mr Ho Peng Cheong, David, Arts and Social Sciences '72
Mr Koe Khoon Poh, Pharmacy '66
Mr Edward Lee Kwong Foo, Arts and Social Sciences '70
Professor Leo Tan Wee Hin, Science '69 '74
Mr Wong Yuen Kuai Lucien, Law '78

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
Ms Deborah Chew Sui Ping, Arts and Social Sciences '97
Mr Choo Hon Min Kelly, Computing '08
Mr Ho Weiren Travis, Computing '11
Mr Huynh Quang Hai, Business '99, Engineering '00
Dr Kumaran Rasappan, Medicine '10
Mr Lai Han Seng, Computing '01 '03see
Mr Lionel Lim Kay Hian, Arts and Social Sciences '01
Mr Mohamed Faizal Mohamed Abdul Kadir, Law '05
Dr Valerie t Hui Ying, Medicine '09
Dr Yeo Sze Ling, Science '01 '06
Eminent Alumni Award
Dr Noeleen Heyzer, Arts and Social Sciences '71 '73

Distinguished Alumni Service Award
Mr Bob Chua Guan Chye, Arts and Social Sciences '80
Ms Veronica Eng Siang Yang, Business '76 '84
Mr Kong Mun Kwong, Design & Environment '71
Dr Seek Ngee Huat, Design & Environment '73
Mr Viswaroopan Sadasivan, Arts and Social Sciences '83

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
Mr Darius Cheung Yik, Engineering '05
Mr Edward Chia Bing Hui, Arts and Social Sciences '09
Dr Darrel Chong Sau-Foong, Engineering '03
Mr Eric Feng Anqiang, Computing '07
Mr Adam Khoo Yean Ann, Business '99
Mr Kiran Kumar, Engineering '07
Mr Ivan Lee Chung Hwa, Arts and Social Sciences '00
Mr Benjamin Lee Ming-An, Arts and Social Sciences '06
Mr Wekie Tay Choon Huat, Arts and Social Sciences '98
Ms Tung Soo Hua, Science '97, Arts and Social Sciences '07
Eminent Alumni Award
Senior Minister Professor S Jayakumar, Law '63
Mr S Dhanabalan, Arts '60

Distinguished Alumni Service Award
Ms Chong Siak Ching, Design and Environment '81
Mr Gopinath Pillai, Arts '61
Mr Lim Soon Hock, Engineering '73
Dr Oon Chiew Seng, Medicine '48
Mr Johnny Tan Khoon Hui, Science '82
Mrs Tan Suan Imm, Arts '61
Mr Peter Tay Yew Beng, Business '74
Mr Zainul Abidin Rasheed, Arts and Social Sciences '71

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
Ms Angeline Ang Yih Ching, Arts and Social Sciences '00, Public Policy '10
Ms Jeanette Aw Ee-Ping, Arts and Social Sciences '03
Ms Pearl Maria Forss, Arts and Social Sciences '04
Mr Goh Seng Wee, Engineering '03
Mr Howie Lau How Sin, Business '93
Ms Lee Li Hui, Engineering '04
Ms Jane Lee Zhen Zhen, Arts and Social Sciences '07
Ms Sim Yi Hui, Arts and Social Sciences '05
Mr Tan Bee Thiam, Engineering '04
Dr Thean Tsin Piao, Dentistry '95
Eminent Alumni Award
President S R Nathan, Arts '54

Distinguished Alumni Service Award
Professor Chan Heng Chee, Arts '64 '66 '74
Mr Chandra Mohan K Nair, Law '76
Mr Hsieh Fu Hua, Business '74
Mr Lai Kim Seng, Engineering '71
Ms Olivia Lum Ooi Lin, Science '86
Mr Paul Selvaraj Abisheganaden, Arts '34
Dr Teo Ho Pin, Design and Environment '85
Mr Oliver Tian Sau Meng, Computing '88
Mr Arthur Yap Hock Seng, Arts '63
Mr Yeo Keng Joon, Business '85

Outstanding Young Alumni Award
Mr Stefen Chow E-Fung, Engineering '03
Ms Corrinne Foo May Ying, Arts and Social Sciences '96
Mr Peter Ho Yew Chi, Engineering '03
Dr Kua Harn Wei, Science '96 '99
Dr Bernard Leong Chung Wei, Science '98
Ms Eunice Elizabeth Olsen, Arts and Social Sciences '01
Mr Sevugan Alagappan, Engineering '02
Mr Tan Aik Hong, Engineering '06
Dr Benedict Tan Chi-Loong, Medicine '91
Ms Stella Tan Wei Ling, Science '98 '01, Law '04
Eminent Alumni Award
Minister Mentor Lee Kuan Yew, '41
Senior Minister Goh Chok Tong, Arts '64
Dr Tony Tan Keng Yam, Science '63

Distinguished Alumni Service Award
Mr Harry Chan Keng Howe, Arts '50
Dr Chee Phui Hung, Medicine '50
Emeritus Professor Kiang Ai Kim, Science '38
Professor Arthur Lim Siew Ming, Medicine '56
Professor Saw Swee Hock, Arts '57 '61
Dr William Tan Kian Meng, Science '80
Mr Wong Ah Long, Science '69, Business '72
Distinguished Alumni Service Award
YABhg Tun Dr Siti Hasmah (Medicine '55) on 13 November 2018

Frequently Asked Questions

The awards recipients and nominators will be notified after the Awards Selection Committee has finalised their selection. The recipients will receive their Awards at the Awards Ceremony, and the recipients will be announced through various online and printed publicity platforms during and after the Ceremony.
For further queries, please contact the Alumni Awards Secretariat at