NUS Graduate Scholarship for ASEAN Nationals


The National University of Singapore [NUS] offers scholarships each year to nationals of ASEAN* member countries who read full-time coursework graduate degrees at NUS. This scholarship is for new, incoming students who are not Singapore citizens and permanent residents. These awards, known as the NUS Graduate Scholarship for ASEAN Nationals [NUS GSA], are financed by the People of Singapore and the University. Scholars have no obligation or bond to NUS or Singapore but are expected to complete the graduate degree and return to their home country to assist in its progress and development.

*ASEAN, or The Association of Southeast Asian Nations, is a political and economic organization of 10 Southeast Asian countries - Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Vietnam.

The NUS GSA is only for MOE-subsidised, single-degree, full-time coursework graduate degrees conducted at NUS and designated for the Scholarship. Candidates receiving any other awards will be disqualified from the NUS GSA.

Application for the NUS GSA

The NUS GSA is only available for August intakes.

Application for the NUS GSA is decentralised to each NUS Faculty/School and integrated into the application for each designated graduate degree. Therefore, the same application period and deadline for the designated graduate degree is applicable to the NUS GSA. However, application periods and deadlines may differ between different graduate degrees.

Prospective candidates to refer to the respective graduate degree web pages and administrators regarding application for admission and the scholarship.

Designated Graduate Degrees and Administrators

The following NUS Faculties/Schools conduct full-time coursework graduate degrees designated for the NUS GSA:

  1. Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences
  2. Faculty of Dentistry [Division of Graduate Dental Studies]
  3. Faculty of Engineering
  4. Faculty of Law
  5. Faculty of Science
  6. School of Computing
  7. School of Design & Environment
  8. Saw Swee Hock School of Public Health
  9. Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy

Details of the designated graduate degrees and the administrators can be found here.

Other Eligibility Requirements

There is a limited number of NUS GSA available each academic year and, therefore, it is awarded on a very competitive basis. Only exceptional candidates will be considered. In addition to the eligibility requirement of nationality, a candidate must have:

  1. an excellent academic record:
    1. A candidate should be in the top 10% of his/her graduating class.

  2. a good command of the English language:
    1. As evidenced with either/both of the following:
      1. a Test of English as a Foreign Language [TOEFL] score of at least 580 for the paper-based test or 237 for the computer-based test or 85 for the internet-based score; or
      2. an International English Language Testing System [IELTS] result of at least 6.0.
    2. If the NUS Faculty/School specifies a higher TOEFL score (e.g. 600 for the paper-based test or 250 for the computer-based test) or IELTS result (e.g. 7.0) as a minimum requirement for a designated graduate degree, the higher score or result will apply.

The organisations conducting the respective tests are:

Educational Testing Service [ETS]
PO Box 6151
Princeton NJ 08541-6151
Tel: (609) 951-1100
or contact your local United States Information Service
University of Cambridge Local Examination Syndicate [UCLES]
1 Hills Road
Cambridge CB1 2EU
United Kingdom
Tel: (01223) 55-3311
or contact your local British Council

The TOEFL and IELTS are internationally established standards to compare the English language proficiency of candidates from diverse backgrounds and disciplines. Even if English is the native language or medium of instruction for the candidate, this does not ensure that the candidate:

  • is an outstanding candidate for the NUS GSA.
  • will cope and benefit from the designated graduate degree (usually conducted in the English language); or
  • has a very good command of the English language;

Please note that:

  • other English language 'proficiency tests' will not be accepted, as they may be inconsistent and not of international standard or comparable to TOEFL or IELTS;
  • tests that claim to be predictions, estimations, simulations, equivalents, practices, etc. of the TOEFL or IELTS will not be accepted;
  • the ETS Institutional Testing Program cannot be used for admission; and
  • TOEFL scores or IELTS results are only valid for 2 years after the test and should be valid at the beginning of the application period for the designated graduate degree.

  1. a minimum of 2 years of relevant working experience as at the application due date:
    • The years of working experience may be cumulative over different periods of time; and
    • The scope of working experience should be within the discipline of the designated graduate degree.

A candidate will not be considered for the NUS GSA if:

  • he/she does not fulfil the nationality and the 3 eligibility requirements above; or
  • his/her application is incomplete or received after the deadline.