Lim Pin

1981 - 2000

Professor Lim Pin is the longest serving appointee with 19 years of service as Vice Chancellor at NUS, when the University was still at its infancy, having merged from the University of Singapore and Nanyang University. The economy then was gearing towards high technology industries and advance service. Prof Lim led NUS throughout this critical period of economic growth, advance industrialisation and modernisation. Under his leadership, the University evolved from being a medical school to a tertiary institution with a strong focus on research, widely recognised for teaching excellence and strong academic achievement worldwide.

Prof Lim first started his career at the University of Singapore in 1966 as lecturer and was later promoted to Professor, heading the Department of Medicine. His contribution to the field of medicine is numerous as evidenced by his achievements and distinctions. He is currently University Professor at the Yong Loo Lin School of Medicine, NUS as well as Emeritus and Senior Consultant at the Endocrinology Department of the National University Hospital.



  • Raffles Institution
  • Queen’s College, Cambridge
  • St. Thomas’s Hospital Medical School, London



  • 1964 Registrar, Diabetic Dept., King's College Hospital, London
  • 1965-66 Medical Officer, Ministry of Health
  • 1966-70 Lecturer, Dept. of Medicine, University of Singapore
  • 1970 Commonwealth Medical Fellow, Dept. of Medicine, The Royal Infirmary, Edinburgh
  • 1971-73 Senior Lecturer, Dept. of Medicine, University of Singapore
  • 1974-77 Associate Professor, Dept. of Medicine, University of Singapore
  • 1978-81 Professor & Head, Dept. of Medicine, University of Singapore
  • 1979-81 Deputy Vice-Chancellor, University of Singapore
  • 1981-2000 Vice-Chancellor, National University of Singapore
  • 2000- University Professor, National University of Singapore
  • 2000- Professor of Medicine, National University of Singapore
  • 2000- Senior Consultant in Endocrinology, National University Hospital


Offices held

  • Deputy Chairman, Economic Development Board
  • Chairman, Applied Research Corporation
  • Chairman, National Biotechnology Committee
  • Chairman, Bio-ethics Advisory Committee
  • Chairman, National Wages Council
  • Chairman, NUS Technology Holdings Pte Ltd
  • Director, Neptune Orient Lines
  • Director, National University Hospital
  • Director, Overseas Union Bank Ltd
  • Director, United Overseas Bank Group
  • Director, Lee Kuan Yew Exchange Fellowship
  • Chairman, Board of Governors, Raffles Institution
  • Board of Governors, Institute of East Asian Political Economy
  • Board of Governors, Institute of Policy Studies
  • Board of Governors, Singapore Institute of Labour Studies
  • Board of Governors, Singapore International Foundation
  • Board of Governors, Chinese Heritage Centre
  • Member, Council on Professional & Technical Education
  • Member, Ministerial Committee on Science and Technology
  • Member, Nanyang Technological University Council
  • Member, National University of Singapore Council
  • Member, Mendaki Board of Advisors
  • Member, National Science and Technology Council
  • Member, Singapore Medical Association
  • Member, British Medical Association
  • Member, Singapore Professional Centre
  • Member, National Information Technology Committee
  • Founder President, Endocrine and Metabolic Society of Singapore
  • Overseas Advisor, Royal College of Physicians of London
  • Past-Master, Academy of Medicine, Singapore



  • 1976 Fellow, Royal College of Physicians, London
  • 1978 Fellow, Royal Australasian College of Physicians
  • 1981 Fellow, Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh
  • 1981 Fellow, American College of Physicians
  • 1982 Honorary Fellow, College of General Practitioners, Singapore
  • 1982 Eisenhower Fellow
  • 1984 Pingat Pentadbiran Awam (Public Administration Medal, Gold)
  • 1988 Officier, Ordre des Palmes Academiques
  • 1990 Pingat Jasa Gemilang (Meritorious Services Medal)
  • 1992 Honorary Fellow, Royal Australian College of Obstetricians & Gynaecologists
  • 1992 Honorary Member, National University of Singapore Society (NUSS)
  • 1995 National Trades Union Congress Friend of Labour Medal
  • 1997 Honorary Fellow, Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Glasgow
  • 1997 Honorary Fellow, Royal College of Surgeons of Edinburgh
  • 1999 Honorary Doctorate of Science, University of Hull
  • 2000 Darjah Utama Bakti Chemerlang (Distinguished Service Order)
  • 2002 Lee Foundation-National Healthcare Group Lifetime Achievement Award


Key Speeches

A Long Sojourn as Vice-Chancellor 
Inaugural University Professor Lecture | 2001

Convocation 1999 
13 Sep 1999

Staff Achievement Award 
7 Oct 1998

Internationalisation in Higher Education 
Universitas 21 1998 Annual Conference | 13-17 Apr 1998

© Copyright 2001-2015 National University of Singapore. All Rights Reserved.