Organizing Committee

Association for Asian Studies (AAS)

Founded in 1941, the Association for Asian Studies (AAS) is a scholarly, non-political, non-profit professional association open to all persons interested in Asia. With over 8,000 members worldwide, representing all the regions and countries of Asia and all academic disciplines, the AAS is the largest organization of its kind. AAS-in-Asia, Singapore seeks to inaugurate a new era in the study of Asian societies worldwide. By bringing specialists of Asia in different parts of the world together with scholars and practitioners in Asia whose routine expertise is not foregrounded in terms of “Asian Studies”, we hope to spark off new and fruitful areas of collaboration. This will be the first in a series of AAS-in-Asia “Asia in Motion” conferences, with subsequent conferences expected to be held over the coming years in Taiwan and Japan.

Asia Research Institute (ARI), NUS

Established in 2001, ARI is one of the very few advanced research institutes in Asia that undertakes basic, inter-disciplinary and innovative research in the humanities and social scientific study of Asia. As one of the university-level research institutes of the National University of Singapore, ARI pursues the motto of its parent institution, to be “a Global University centred in Asia.” It collaborates actively with scholars from the Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, Faculty of Law, School of Business, School of Design and Environment, Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy and the Global Asia Institute, as well as the area research centers of NUS, such as East Asia Institute, Institute of South Asian Studies and the Middle East Institute. It also actively pursues international research collaborations and hosts many renowned researchers in Asian Studies from around the world.

Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences (FASS), NUS

One of the largest Faculties in NUS, FASS has a rich history (having celebrated its 80th Anniversary in 2009), as well as a strong international reputation for educational and research excellence. With 15 departments and subjects (including departments of Chinese Studies, Japanese Studies, South Asian Studies, Southeast Asian Studies and Malay Studies), 19 major and a host of minor programmes, and a Centre for Language Studies offering both Asian and European languages, we offer the most comprehensive education in the humanities, social sciences and Asian studies in this part of the world.


Singapore Tourism Board (STB)

Singapore Tourism Board (STB) is a leading economic development agency in tourism, one of Singapore’s key service sectors. Known for partnership, innovation and excellence, STB champions tourism, making it a key economic driver for Singapore. We aim to differentiate and market Singapore as a must-visit destination offering a concentration of user-centric and enriching experiences through the ‘YourSingapore’ brand. For more information, please visit

Singapore Exhibition and Convenction Bureau (SECB)

The Singapore Exhibition and Convention Bureau (SECB) has a mission to champion business travel and business events as key drivers of the tourism sector and enablers for industry growth in Singapore. It aims to establish Singapore as a dynamic business events destination where people, technology and ideas converge to create great value for customers. As the leading government agency for the business events sector in Singapore, the Bureau works with stakeholders to create, attract, and grow business events, as well as ensuring exceptional experiences in the delivery of these events. The Bureau also develops partnerships with international organisations and alliances.

Bestcities Global Alliance

The Singapore Exhibition & Convention Bureau (SECB) is a member of the BestCities Global Alliance. BestCities is the first global alliance to put in place a certification programme—with standards certified by Lloyd’s Register Quality Assurance (LRQA)—to ensure a consistent level of convention bureau service excellence from all partner cities. BestCities Partners are Berlin, Cape Town, Copenhagen, Dubai, Edinburgh, Houston, Melbourne, San Juan, Singapore and Vancouver.